top of page

16th Blog Post; Christmas, Carn-iii-val & Happy New Year


The last two weeks have been very busy at work as it has hit holiday season. The dinners stopped at GV and and all of the events have started.

Christmas away from home was very odd, I wouldn't say I missed home, but I did miss the weather. Throughout the past two weeks it was lovely to see all of the members coming in with their families and spending time together.

Within these two weeks I have worked several events;

Christmas Day:

Christmas Day started off in GV working the lunch service, this was not very busy, as expected. I then went over to the other side and worked the Christmas buffet, Admirals had over 300 members attend this event and I had my first go at hostessing the night. It was a relatively easy night showing families to their tables, after everyone had a arrived I then went on to help collecting plates. I didn't finish too late this night. It was an interesting Christmas Day to say the least, primarily because of the wether, but I enjoyed it never the less. Boxing Day - Carnival: On Boxing Day GV held a carnival. I have been looking forward to working this event for several weeks, once I heard about it also interesting to see a different event take place. I helped throughout the day with the set up, and then the event it's self. There were several rides at the event and carnival food. I was placed on a section with tables and my job was to clear the tables and talk to members.

Seafood Night:

Seafood night was said to be one of the busiest buffets this holiday season. It was extremely busy, but as it was busy the time went quickly.

Prime Rib Night:

Prime Rib night wasn't as busy as the prior events.

Tuscan Night:

I enjoyed tuscan night, because of one of the tables I was serving. I had a lovely family that kept me chatting the whole night and I hope to see these members again very soon.

New Years:

New Years night there were four different events going on, these were service in Marina Cafe, Cocktails in Blü, a three course meal in the event space and a buffet in GV. I worked the buffet, but managed to see the lay out of all the other events because we went to go pick up stuff from the other side. New Years went smoothly and we managed to leave before 12'Oclock so we were home for the countdown.

The past two weeks my opinions have changed and I am very excited to go up North.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page