top of page

13th Blog Post; My first Thanksgiving

First GV dinner;

Throughout this week we had our first proper GV dinner. This didn't exactly go as planned, however it was our first night and we all tried our best. We had about 70 people booked in and at the start of the night it started so well. I was back serving and I am not blaming anyone, however the front of house staff had compliments on how the night went and it was out of our hands. The kitchen staff were all new and just got slightly taken back by food orders, however they all worked so hard and the staff moral that night was great I felt personally despite the back log on the food. The member were all so patient with the night and I felt extremely understanding. Since this first night we have had a cap on the member numbers 50 people per night until recently and this has given us time to get used to the menu. The nights since this have become so much more smoother and easy to do.

Pep Rally;

This week it was Admirals Cove Pep Rally, this I think has been my favourite event so far that I have taken part with Admirals Cove. I felt greatly that it did boost moral of the members. The pep rally had a guest speaker, this guest speaker had a short but good story about his life that was funny and motivating. Then after this Mr Herring got up and talked about the new developments that are going to happen to Admirals cove and the direction of the club in the future. Then the prizes started, there was a great atmosphere as staffs names were pulled from a hat and prizes, such as gift cards, a TV, smart watches, and iPads were up for grabs. The whole of Admirals got so involved and despite me not winning anything as Lady Luck was not on my side I had such a good time there!

Neighbours thanksgiving;

This week has been thanks giving and I have started to feel very festive. Below my flat live a couple and one of the couple corks at Admirals Cove. We as a flat have become close with this couple and they look out for us so much and are always offering us anything they can. On the 22nd of November we were invited to their flat for food, this was an early thanksgiving dinner. We took over an apple pie and some flowers to show our gratitude. We arrived at 6:30pm to spread laid out for us of classic thanks giving food. This was my first thanks giving, I was taken back by how sweet all of the food was but I enjoyed the family atmosphere and was extremely grateful for their hospitality.

Thanksgiving at work;

The day after my first thanks giving meal was thanks giving and I had a long shift of 9 till close, working the lunch and dinner shift. I was expecting the lunch to be rushed off my feet, however this was not the case in the end and lunch was rather dead. This gave us plenty of time to set up for the thanksgiving buffet. We only had 72 booked in GV for the thanksgiving buffet and this went extremely smoothly I personally felt. It was an easy shift and had a very festive feel. I enjoyed seeing the members family throughout the shift enjoy themselves too.

Black Friday;

The day after thanksgiving is Black Friday. We got up early and went to the mall to make the most of the Black Friday deals on offer. I managed to buy majority of my Christmas presents apart from my dads, but this will be bought on my next trip to the mall. I think I expected better deals to be had but I managed to get some good deals for the family presents.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page