top of page

12 Blog Post; Point System, Getting Comfortable

Point System:

Throughout this week at work we were told about a new points system that is going to be put in place starting on the 1st of December. I am not going to have an opinion on this system until it is in place. It is a system that is there to reward and motivate us. The things in which we will be given points about is if out uniform, hair, demeanor around work, good table maintenance, etc. The rewards that come with this system are all very generous, however I feel if not used in the correct way this particular system may not work, but I can not comment until it is implemented on December the 1st. I do currently feel I always look appropriate for work, however sometimes I get fly aways with my hair despite using hair spray and grips and I hope it isn't something as simple as this that will get points taken off me.

GV Staff:

I have worked in GV over a month now and I am very much enjoying my team that I work with. I feel we all get on very well and can work efficiently between us all. My manger is a joker, but I'd much prefer that than anything else. I feel I am growing extremely close with the girls that I am also working with despite us being from different areas of the world, and having different culture. I have worked in several places with kitchen staff since I have grown up too, but I have never met a team of chefs that are as patient and caring about their job than the ones that work at Admirals Cove. The head chef who currently works at GV has worked at Admirals cove previously, then decided to open his own restaurant before returning. He has so much time for his work and so much time for his staff (both chefs and front of house staff). I understand that chefs have extremely high stress jobs, but you would not be able to tell with our chef. I am excited to continue with our season working with my team mates.

Manatee Place:

During my days off this week I cycled to a manatee lagoon. This was a long cycle of 1.5 hours there and 1.5 hours back, I am glad I managed to use my bike this made me feel active. The weather was on my side again when I went to this destination which I felt lucky for as I know how temperamental it can be. Manatee Lagoons is dedicated to educating the public about manatees and Lake Worth Lagoon, inspiring the community of Florida to preserve and protect the environment and wildlife for the future generations. It has hit manatee season, however there were no manatees, to be seen, but I have learnt I need to visit in the early hours in January to see them all in their glory with their baby's. I cycled here with two of the Austrian girls I know, it was a fun day out despite the no show of the manatees. I will be returning however to see these creatures.

http://www.visitmanateelagoon.com

First Sunday Buffet:

It was the first Sunday Buffet in GV this week. It was a full event with seats inside and outside. This particular buffet had a singer at the event, which was good fun and all of the members got involved throughout the night. The buffet had an Italian theme and the food looked very delicious. (There were no complaints). I had my own section, but this was breeze, due to me just having to take drinks orders throughout the night. I also had a very efficient back server too, which makes a massive difference to a shift. I am looking forward to working more Sunday buffets throughout the season as I feel it is a nice pleasant way to end the week. Culture in Admirals Cove:

Throughout Admirals Cove there are so many different people from different back grounds and country's. I enjoy this as I have learned a lot about different places, especially South Africa. I would say the majority of people there are, American, Irish, South African, Austrian and from various places in South Africa. As there are so many cultures there are many different languages used throughout Admirals cove, however this does not bother me. I didn't expect my culture awareness to increase massively from working in America, this is because of the same language, however I feel it is growing every day. As previously mentioned I feel I have learned so much about South Africa, their beliefs, culture, politics throughout the country and perceptions.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page