top of page

3rd Blog Post; Lessons Learnt

I am currently sat in JFK airport at 2:35am writing this blog post quite awake as my body thinks it's currently 7:35am. I am in desperate need of a make up wipe and some food.

I am sat in JFK at this time of the day writing this, because my flight from MAN-JFK was delayed by 2.5 hours causing me to miss my connecting flight with DELTA airways - FLL. I'm tired, feel grotty and could do with a sleep, but I must remember there are people in much worse situations than a 10 hour delay in flight times.

I have landed in this situation because I booked through two different airline companies and Thomas Cook have claimed they can't take fault, (just my luck). The flight was delayed by 2.5hours, but this had a major affect on several peoples connecting flights, the reason this flight was delayed was due to Hurricane Irma. Over one week on the flights are still being affected, but I know that people will have more serious aftermath problems from this natural disaster than flights being cancelled.

If I have learnt anything from my experiences of all my flights over the past week it is: Travel insurance on the flight, especially if long haul; (This is the major one)! Argue your corner, companies will easily drag you along in the hope you will give up, but persistence is key!

And, JFK terminal 5 has an amazing playlist!

I can safely say after a mad run around JFK to find JetBlue's terminal to try and book a flight that left on the 16th of September, to be continuously turned down / or told the distance in Florida was too far from my accommodation.. I have gone through all of the emotions these 26+ hours I have been awake and I have cried several times on the phone to my mum, more because of stress/lack of sleep than anything else. I managed to book a flight with JetBlue in the early am's (6:20), to West Palm Beach after several phone calls with Kara from Admirals Cove, (who was brilliant during this stressful period). On the bright side I am continuously being told that things can't get any worse, until I accidentally bought sparkling water instead of still water.

I am excited to arrive in Florida now especially because the rest of the interns have arrived as well, however I am struggling to admit this due to my bad mood with the world currently (not the right attitude, I know).

Fingers crossed for the last leg of my journey; because can it really get any worse then buying sparkling water? (Whilst typing this 'The only living boy in New York - Simon & Garfunkel' has come on and I currently feel like the only living girl with the amount of sleeping people around me)


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page