top of page

20th Blog Post; Key West

Key west has been on my list of places to visit before I leave Florida, and I am so glad I finally got the opportunity to visit this beautiful Island.

Key West

Key West, a U.S. island city, is part of the Florida Keys archipelago. It's also Florida's southernmost point, lying roughly 90 miles north of Cuba. Famed for its pastel-hued, conch-style houses, it’s a cruise-ship stop also accessible from the mainland via the Overseas Highway. It’s known more for its coral reefs – destinations for diving and snorkelling – than for it's beaches.

Key West is famous for it's drive down to the location over the seven mile bridge. This was a beautiful drive down and I am very happy that I got to see this as I was told it was one of the best drives you're supposed to do before you die.

Day 1:

We arrived in Key West around 3pm, which gave us 1.5hours to have a look around the town before we had to board our rum and reggae tour. Key West was lovely and had a very holiday feel. We visited during spring break, but this was okay, because ti just made the place more lively. When we boarded the snorkel tour we had lovely weather for it, the staff on board were very entertaining and informal. Unfortunately due to choppy waters the snorkelling wasn't very clear, but this didn't matter for me as I have been snorkelling in Thailand before. whilst aboard the ship were got to see a lovely Key west sunset, which we were very happy with. After the tour we went to a burger shack on land, which I found from Instagram. This place was great with a live band playing outside and I would recommend to anyone visiting the Island. After food we headed back up to Key Largo to our Airbnb. If I was to suggest anything to anyone if visiting stay in Key West, even if pricey, because it is worth it. Our Airbnb was lovely with great hosts and a private beach. Day 2:

Day 2 we headed back down to Key West, but on our way down we went to no name pub, which is famous for it's dollar bills attached to the walls. After visiting this pub we went for another walk down in Key West to visit the most southern point and have a walk around the areas we hadn't visited the day prior. I loved Key West and if I had the money I would have spent another night, even if it was to look around Key largo as well, but I was very happy with my time spent in the keys, especially because I had great company as well.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page